DSC_9418
OUR ACTIONS

RECONSTRUCTION

  • Stays in Conques

Five times a year,during the school holidays, Limbo takes a group of 10 young survivors to Conques (Aveyron).All of them suffer from serious physical and psychological traumas, which require specific support and a real knowledge of their problems.

In a safe environmentevery day the young people take part in an art therapy or a workshop,built around dance, music, ceramics, photography... The rest of the week is made up of visits to craftsmen, body expression exercises, sports activities and meetings.

For some of them, the reconstruction process starts very quickly. For others, more time is needed. This is why Limbo offers its beneficiaries the opportunity to come to Conques up to three times. During each stay, we divide the group into old and new members. Little by little, some of the old ones have even become "assistant supervisors". The young people can then accompany each other, in a co-therapy dynamic.

Click here for PRACTICAL INFORMATION on the stays, as well as our diaries of previous stays.

  • NEW : LIMBO workshops

Our accompanied stays in Conques, in the Aveyron region of France, which focus on communal living, art therapy and outdoor activities, have shown spectacular results and have proven their effectiveness in breaking, at least for a time, the downward spiral towards depression, isolation or suicide. The only obstacle is the inevitably limited reception capacity in Conques.

In addition, in January 2020 we began “Limbo Workshops", a permanent centre in Paris where we will be able to extend our action and welcome new participants. The method remains the same: using the process of creation and healing - thanks to art therapy and workshops in music, theatre and plastic arts - to revive the vital momentum blocked by the psychological shock caused by the horror experienced in the camps.

Life force against the force of evil. Thanks to these weekly workshops, participants will have a real weekly reference point that will allow us to follow and build on the progressive reconstruction of the victims, helping each one regain their creative strength, their psycho-physical dimension and thus an overall sense of calm. To help them return to life and integrate into the society in which they have to live.

Click here for PRACTICAL INFORMATION Limbo Workshops


RAISING AWARENESS

  • Advocacy and documentation

Since its foundation, Limbo has been collecting information on the state of torture camps, the development of trafficking in migrants, and the difficulties exiles face upon arrival in France, as one of its primary missions. Limbo members organise screenings, participate in conferences and debates,and intervene in the media to raise awareness of this little-known reality.


Photo Olga KRAVETS

Nos actions

LA RECONSTRUCTION

  • Les séjours à Conques

Cinq fois par an, pendant les vacances scolaires, LIMBO emmène à Conques (Aveyron) un groupe composé de 10 jeunes survivants. Tous souffrent de graves traumatismes, physiques et psychiques, qui demandent un accompagnement spécifique et une réelle connaissance de leurs problématiques.

Dans un environnement sécurisant, les jeunes participent chaque jour à un atelier d’art-thérapie ou de médiation artistique, construit autour de la danse, la musique, la céramique, la photographie… Le reste de la semaine est constitué de visites chez des artisans, d’exercices d’expression corporelle, d’activités sportives, de rencontres.

Pour certains d’entre eux, la reconstruction s’enclenche très vite. Pour d’autres, il faudra plus de temps. C’est pourquoi LIMBO propose à ses bénéficiaires de venir jusqu’à trois fois à Conques. À chaque séjour, nous articulons le groupe entre anciens et nouveaux. Peu à peu, certains des anciens sont même devenus des « encadrants assistants ». Les jeunes peuvent alors s’accompagner mutuellement, dans une dynamique de co-thérapie.

Retrouvez ici les INFOS PRATIQUES sur les séjours, ainsi que notre journal de bord des séjours précédents.

  • NOUVEAU : Les Ateliers LIMBO

Nos séjours accompagnés à Conques, en Aveyron, centrés sur la vie en commun, l’art-thérapie et des activités de plein air, donnent des résultats spectaculaires et ont montré leur efficacité pour briser, au moins pour un temps, la spirale descendante vers la dépression, l’isolement ou le suicide. Seul obstacle : la capacité d’accueil, forcément limitée, à Conques.

Pour aller plus loin, nous venons d’inaugurer en janvier 2020 « Les Ateliers LIMBO », un centre permanent à Paris où nous pourrons prolonger notre action et accueillir de nouveaux participants. La méthode reste la même : faire appel au processus de création et de réparation – grâce à l’art-thérapie et aux ateliers de musique, de théâtre et d’arts plastiques -, pour relancer l’élan vital bloqué par la sidération psychique provoquée par l’horreur vécue des camps.

Force de vie contre force du mal. Grâce à ses ateliers réguliers, véritables points de repère hebdomadaires assurant une continuité temporelle, nous pourrons poursuivre et consolider la reconstruction progressive des victimes, faire retrouver à chacun sa force créative, sa dimension psycho corporelle et donc un apaisement global. Comme un début de retour à la vie et à l’intégration dans la société où il lui faut vivre.

Retrouvez ici les INFOS PRATIQUES sur les Ateliers LIMBO.


LA SENSIBILISATION

  • Le plaidoyer et la documentation

Depuis sa fondation, LIMBO a fait de la collecte d’informations sur l’état des camps de torture, le développement de la traite des personnes migrantes, et les difficultés auxquels les exilés font face à l’arrivée en France, l’une de ses missions premières. Les membres de LIMBO organisent des projections, participent à des conférences et débats, et interviennent dans les médias afin de sensibiliser à cette réalité peu connue.


Photo Olga KRAVETS.