ORIGINS
Slider

In 2014, the film Under the Skin (original title: Voyage en barbarie)), co-directed by Cécile ALLEGRA, denounces the systematic and massive torture of men and women who have fallen into the hands of human traffickers in the Sinai.

Two years later, one of the young survivors of the film commits a suicide attempt in his Reception Centre for Asylum Seekers (CADA). Finding himself alone during the school holidays, he stopped eating and drinking to let himself die. Cécile ALLEGRA becomes aware that, for these young people, the mere fact of having survived is not a sufficient driving force to live.

"Nothing can prepare survivors for a normal life, for life itself."

Primo Lévi, If This Is a Man

Meanwhile, in Conques, in the Aveyron, one of the brothers of the Abbey of Sainte-Foy watches the film and contacts Cécile ALLEGRA. He informs her that the inhabitants of the village want to help the survivors of the torture camps.

Shortly afterwards, Limbo was born, in order to help the survivors who are left to their own devices to deal with these periods of emptiness during which self-destructive drives resurge. With a single objective in mind: to bring them back to life.


– Image from Under the skin, Albert Londres prize winner, directed by Cécile ALLEGRA and Delphine DELOGET

L’origine

En 2014, le film Voyage en Barbarie, co-réalisé par Cécile ALLEGRA, dénonce les tortures systématiques et massives dont font l’objet les hommes et les femmes tombés aux mains des trafiquants d’êtres humains dans le Sinaï.

Deux ans plus tard, un des jeunes survivants du film commet une tentative de suicide dans son Centre d’Accueil pour Demandeurs d’Asile (CADA). Se retrouvant seul pendant les vacances scolaires, il s’est laissé dépérir. Cécile ALLEGRA prend conscience que, pour ces jeunes, le simple fait d’avoir survécu n’est pas un moteur suffisant pour vivre.

« Rien ne peut préparer des survivants à une vie normale, à la vie tout court. »

Primo Lévi, Si c’est un homme

Pendant ce temps, à Conques, dans l’Aveyron, un des frères de l’Abbaye de Sainte-Foy visionne le film, et contacte Cécile ALLEGRA. Il l’informe alors de la volonté des habitants du village de s’engager auprès des survivants des camps de torture.

Peu après, l’association LIMBO naît, afin de prendre en charge ces « temps à vide » pendant lesquels les survivants, livrés à eux mêmes, voient la pulsion de mort resurgir. Avec en tête, un seul objectif : les ramener à la vie.


– Image extraite du film Voyage en Barbarie, Prix Albert Londres, réalisé par Cécile ALLEGRA et Delphine DELOGET