SONGS OF THE LIVING
SONGS OF THE LIVING
SONGS OF THE LIVING
SONGS OF THE LIVING
previous arrow
next arrow

Origin of the project

A brand new experience

During our LIMBO stays in Conques, we created a space that enabled these young survivors, not necessarily to speak, but to be able to do so. Over the course of the week, the art therapy sessions - through theatre, dance, photography, music - work on the body's memory, restoration, and the link to others. And little by little, speech resurfaces. But when young people cannot speak, they often sing. They improvise little texts, which speak of exile, of the hopes it brings and those it destroys. In Conques, music is omnipresent among them: they have headphones screwed to their ears, they improvise fragments of songs that often emerge in incongruous situations...

An idea is born. The idea of finding a language to make audible what seems unspeakable.

Then, in April 2018, we invited a musician friend, Mathias Duplessy, to come to Conques during one of our stays. There, for a short week, the LIMBO team and Mathias worked on songs with a few young people who volunteered to try putting them into words and music. The desire to sing gradually unlocks the impossibility of naming things: because before being able to sing, of course, one has to pronounce, then determine the right words.

Gradually, they find a rhythm. Under Cécile's benevolent eye, the young people reconnect with their past and put it into words. Then comes the time for music: after a long exchange with the young people, to feel and capture the music of their exile, Mathias composes a melody. This is how the young people, and in particular F. (author of "Où vais-je?"), wrote the first songs. We decided to document this experience in a film.

● A different voice but a common language

There are about ten of them who decided to take part in this adventure. Sometimes alone, sometimes in pairs, with a little help, they wrote the nine songs that mark out Songs of the Living. Each of these songs retraces, one after the other, the stages of the road to exile. The departure, the road, Libya, the crossing, the arrival, the trauma, the future... Together these young people have composed an anthem: the song of the survivors, a song of the living.

By writing a song that tells their story, Bailo, Egbal, Sophia, Victoria, Anas, David, Hervé, Zomuy, Michael, have left the shore of the dead. In this Song of the Living, they have found a way to simply say the pain of being alive and to extract something other than pain. They have found another way to move towards the clearing and tell their story; a musical way, slower, at times funny, pleasant. The resulting film is a way for the whole LIMBO team to share this experience.

LE CHANT DES VIVANTS
LE CHANT DES VIVANTS
LE CHANT DES VIVANTS
LE CHANT DES VIVANTS
previous arrow
next arrow

La genèse du projet

Une expérience inédite

À Conques, lors de nos séjours LIMBO, nous avions créé un espace pour permettre à ces jeunes survivants, non pas de parler forcément, mais de pouvoir le faire. Au fil de la semaine, les séances d’art-thérapie – à travers le théâtre, la danse, la photographie, la musique – travaillent sur la mémoire du corps, la réparation, le lien à l’autre. Et peu à peu, la parole refait surface. Mais, quand les jeunes ne peuvent pas dire, souvent, ils chantent. Ils improvisent des petits textes, qui parlent de l’exil, des espoirs qu’il porte et de ceux qu’il détruit. À Conques, la musique est omniprésente chez eux : ils ont les écouteurs vissés aux oreilles, improvisent des fragments de chansons qui émergent souvent dans des situations incongrues…

Une idée naît. L’idée de trouver un langage pour rendre audible ce qui semble indicible.

Alors, au mois d’avril 2018, nous invitons un ami musicien, Mathias Duplessy, à venir à Conques lors d’un de nos séjours. Là, pendant une petite semaine, l’équipe de LIMBO et Mathias travaillent sur des chansons avec quelques jeunes qui se sont portés volontaires, pour faire des essais de mise en mots, de mise en musique. L’envie de chanter déverrouille petit à petit l’impossibilité de nommer les choses : car avant de pouvoir chanter, bien sûr, il faut prononcer, puis fixer les mots justes.

Progressivement, le rythme se trouve. Sous le regard bienveillant de Cécile, les jeunes renouent avec leur passé, le mettent en mot. Vient ensuite le temps de la musique : après un long échange avec les jeunes, pour sentir, capter, la musique de leur exil, Mathias compose une mélodie. C’est ainsi que les jeunes, et notamment F. (auteur de « Où vais-je ? »), ont écrit les premières chansons. Nous avons décidé de documenter cette expérience dans un film.

● Une voix différente mais une langue commune

Ils sont une petite dizaine à avoir décidé de participer à cette aventure. Parfois seuls, parfois à deux, avec un peu d’aide, ils ont écrit les neufs chansons qui jalonnent Le Chant des vivants. Chacune de ces chansons retrace, l’une après l’autre, les étapes de la route de l’exil. Le départ, la route, la Libye, la traversée, l’arrivée,  le trauma, l’avenir… Ensemble ces jeunes ont composé un hymne : le chant des survivants, un chant des vivants.

En écrivant une chanson qui raconte leur histoire, Bailo, Egbal, Sophia, Victoria, Anas, David, Hervé, Zomuy, Michael, ont quitté la rive des morts. Dans ce Chant des vivants, ils ont trouvé une façon de dire simplement la douleur d’être en vie et d’en extraire autre chose que de la douleur. Ils ont trouvé un autre chemin pour s’avancer vers la clairière et dire leur histoire ; un chemin musical, plus lent, par moments drôle, agréable. Le film qui en est né est la manière, pour toute l’équipe de LIMBO, de faire partager cette expérience